Skip to content

End Of The Road

June 19, 2013

tony-soprano

What a shitty day. To begin the day, I get the news that the Men’s Warehouse guy (George Zimmer) was unceremoniously fired today. This effectively ends what might be the greatest run by America’s 75th best TV personality. George Zimmer rose to national fame in the late 70’s with his white boy jam funk band known as the Panty Droppers. Back then he was known as Base Absolute Funk Master or simply the BAMF in the group. BAMF was known for his distinct deep vocal talents 1972 then Rolling Stone writer George R.R. Martin compared BAMF voice to a beautiful cross between Satan and the Macho Man Randy Savage. Sadly, the Panty Droppers never made it past the AM oldies stations and BAMF had to pursue his second dream of opening a Men’s Warehouse. This Men’s Warehouse would be a safe haven for men to gather for fellowship and to LIKE THE WAY THE LOOK. The very founder of the company was fired today…what the hell. At the very least BAMF deserved a celebration performance by the classic song “End Of The Road” by Boys II Men. Another little known fact is that BAMF is actually the father of the deep voiced soprano in the group Boys II Men (just a little fun fact for the water cooler tomorrow).I for one have never shopped at The Men’s Warehouse and I damn sure won’t now. If the Men’s Warehouse has the audacity to fire the spokesman equivalent to Tom Brady in his prime, I got nothing for ya;)

Then tonight I read that Tony Soprano actor James Gandolfini passed away at the age of 51.Most of you kids have long forgotten Tony Soprano and moved onto shittier shows like True Blood and Keeping Up With The Karassian’s  but there was a time when the Soprano’s was the big dog. I have been a fan for years and I am truly saddened by this news and we all know 51 is way to young to die. So in tribute to BAMF and BAMF number 2, tonight I will play “End of The Road” long may they run in the hills of original gangstas:( May those hills be filled with big breasted strippers and designer socks…tonight I toast you sirs!

 

 

From → In The News

3 Comments
  1. I never watched The Sopranos but I was shocked when I heard about Gandolfini’s death.

    I’ll have to watch it now… 🙂

    • It was a really good show, I know you would like it. 51 is super sad granted he may not have been the healthiest dude but randy Jackson is still kicking;)

  2. I heard that he had a wife, a teenager, and a child who isn’t even a year old. And he died on vacation! That is beyond awful. I’ve never watched the Sopranos, maybe I will one day but it’s not exactly my cup of tea. Neither are those God forsaken vampire shows. Either or, a tragedy for all.

Leave a Reply Please

