Skip to content

Awesome Day To Change

January 21, 2013

mlk

If you didn’t know today is Martin Luther King Day, but what does that mean to you? To me it means that if you are one of these people, who still want to live in the past and judge people by the color of their skin, and not their merit as a person…today is a great day to change. I have grown up in the South my whole life, and racism on both sides is still an issue. Will it ever truly go away? I don’t know, but you cannot worry about the other guy, all you can do is take care of you. I encourage you to find your own truth and not live by some bullshit your grandpa told you when you were 12.

I am glad for the progress we have made in my generation. I think we have made huge gains in the areas of acceptance and equality, but some changes still need to be made. Besides life is way to short to carry hate in your heart anyways, it’s such a bullshit burden. We all need to realize at the end of the day, we are the only ones to blame for our short comings. If someone has more than you, and you want what they have. The best thing to do in this case is just commit to succeed, and you can have it in due time.  Don’t waste your time bitching about what other people are getting for free or their limited responsibilities in life. Please just remember that someone will always have it better or worse than you, and comparing yourself to everyone else is a futile exercise.

The South has spent way to long running on tradition. Tradition is nice, but at the end of the day it’s just an excuse for ignorance. Teach your kids, that we are all in this “life” thing together. I say to hell with all the social stereotypes. In 2013 we can all make an effort to be better people. Try not to let your friends dictate your own personal politics. Examine the issues that you maybe facing and attack those issue with a level-headed passion. I think MLK was a great man and the reason he is beloved, is because he saw the wasted potential in man. The energy it takes to hate another man, can be used in a positive way… if acceptance is practiced. So have a good MLK Day everyone, and if you are not who you want to be today…it’s a good day to change. Thanks for reading, post a comment if you like;)

http://themusiccave.com/

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

10 Comments
  1. Well put. I could have gone without the song… hahaha not a huge fan of Eddie Vedder’s music. I think he’s a great person though.

    • Thanks for reading Ashley! Eddie is like my all time favorite so I shamelessly use him all over the blog. The song is a bob dylan song;) Hope all is well and kristin says hey!!!

  2. I love Eddie Vedder! And I love your post. Well said, sir!

  3. You know, it’s really weird. I didn’t even read your post until today; only after I had written a post on racism and ignorance last night (which I programmed for this morning). I had even forgotten that it was MLK Day.

    Good post Mike.

    And as an after-thought: one of my high school friends from San Francisco used to live next to Golden Gate Park, where they had a huge concert (free, I believe) with Eddie Vedder and Neil Young. She told me she could hear the concert from her house. Amazing!

    • Hey hey!!! I will swing by and check out your post for sure. I love Eddie Vedder he is probably my all time favorite. As far as the racism issue, I am glad that with each generation it seems to get a little better. We have come along way with tolerance but still have a long way to go. I hope that one day we can put aside the past and work towards a united future. Attack the real enemy…nickel back fans and kid rock supporters;)

      • I think we’re getting there. As for the real enemy, that Nancy Grace woman is a real piece of work.

        Kind of scary.

  4. Well said, and well written, Mike. I’m a huge Dylan fan, so the song is good with me. 😉

    • Awesome song one of his best. His singing is hit or miss at times but the words transcend time like no other…a true poet in the music world!

  5. This is a list of 101 timeless principles I use to live my best life, and I hope they’ll help you to do so too. As you live in alignment with them, you’ll find yourself becoming more conscious , more alive, and more importantly, experiencing life on a whole new level. Be sure to bookmark or even print out this page and refer to it daily to guide you to your best life.

Leave a Reply Please

