Skip to content

Let Your Sticker Do The Talking

October 14, 2012

Being that I live in the South, I am no particular stranger to ignorant bumper stickers on cars. I saw a bumper sticker on a Dodge Truck yesterday that made me stop and think. The bumper sticker said “Give War A Chance”. There was a middle-aged woman behind the wheel and I saw a couple of young boys in the backseat. Now, I don’t know the whole story, maybe she just bought the truck. Maybe it was her husband’s truck who was in the military, who knows.

I have never served in the military, so I cannot venture into the mindset of most soldiers. I would like to think most soldiers take no particular pleasure in killing or watching their fellow soldiers die.  I would like to think being a soldier is a job, but most likely it is much more than that. Soldiers have to dedicate themselves to a greater cause, and they must completely believe in what they are doing. I would venture to think if you asked a soldier if they feel war is a solution to every problem, 99% would say no. Rich powerful men declare wars, they rarely fight in them. Most times, throughout all history, it is the lower and middle classes who are forced to make the ultimate sacrifice.

So I cannot get behind this woman’s train of thought, and I think her bumper sticker is shit. I highly doubt she has ever fired a shot in defense of freedom or even volunteered at a homeless shelter. Please try not to be so presumptuous and assume that war is a fucking holiday for most soldiers. What the lady in the truck failed to realize, is that it is those who make the ultimate sacrifice protect the ability for she and I to talk shit.  So the next time you get the idea that putting a stupid ass message on your car in an attempt to voice your opinions is a fantastic idea, be able to say you have been there. Credibility is everything, and if the only thing you have ever dedicated yourself to is all twelve seasons of Grey’s Anatomy get a clue!

I am tired and sick of war. Its glory is all moonshine. It is  only those who have neither fired a shot nor heard the shrieks and groans of the  wounded who cry aloud for blood, for vengeance, for desolation. War is  hell.  – William  Sherman

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. All I can say is that I would feel really bad if someone who had lost a loved one in a war were to see that.

  2. Did she also have a confederate flag tacked somewhere to her vehicle or a sticker that said “Give Racism a Chance?”

  3. grooda permalink

    I saw that sticker before on a truck in front of me and wanted to rear-end it. I quickly realized that my compact would practically just drive under that huge truck. Also, something told me the driver could be armed 🙂 So I took a “left” turn instead.
    Peace is always a better option. All kids know it.

    • We are gonna get you eco friendly truck that has a brush guard in the shape of a peace symbol. That way you can spread the peace to out of touch rednecks!

Leave a Reply Please

