Skip to content

Best of 2011 so far

September 18, 2011

I know we are well past the midway point in the year, but I felt it was time for a recap of 2011’s best music so far. This has been a pretty good year for music in my opinion. It seems like the ladies have had a strong year, between Lady GaGa and Adele topping the charts. This is my Top Ten so far for 2011…please note you will not see and Katy Perry, Kesha, Bruno Mars, Taylor Swift, Maroon 5 etc. There is nothing wrong with these cats, but this is a list of good music. I am also giving thought to music I hope you guys have heard in 2011. I have a whole other list of more obscure music that came out this year that is pretty damn good…don’t be afraid to broaden your horizons…that’s the word.  Give me some feedback on this one, please take the poll !

  1. Foo Fighters- Wasted Light
  2. Adele- 21
  3. Bon Iver – Bon Iver
  4. Bad Meets Evil – Hell the Sequel(Ep)
  5. My Morning Jacket- Circuital
  6. Jay Z & Kanye – Watch the Throne
  7. Danger Mouse – Rome
  8. Red Hot Chilli Peppers – I’m with you
  9. Foster The People – Torches
  10. Cults – Cults

Honorable Mention: Yuck- Yuck, A.A. Bondy – Believers, OAR -King, Beastie Boys – Hot Sauce Committe,  Zac Brown Band – You Get What You Give.

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Speaking of good music Wilco’s Yankee Hotel Foxtrot is the 3.99 cd today on Amazon. If you don’t know this one, you should…maybe the best album of the 2000’s? 9/18/2011

  2. ashley permalink

    This actually made me really sad because 1) my ipod had a freak accident, its no longer with us. 2) I can’t afford a cd. 3) how could you leave out my favorite band for the last 11yrs… ALKALINE TRIO. This year was their 15th yr together as a band. They put out an acoustic album of all their favorites from the last 15yrs and added 2 new ones to the mix. Which, in a way worries me when bands do this. They are either desperate for some money, or losing their touch at song writing… oh no… I just had a thought… man… I’ve got to go… I need to drown in my sorrows as if I were a 13 yr old girl after she got the news lance bass from nsync is a homo…

  3. Nice list. May I add:
    PJ Harvey – Let England Shake
    The Decemberists – The King Is Dead
    Bright Eyes – The People’s Key
    and, for the old times’ sake, REM – Collapse into Now

  4. You put Bon Iver over MMJ….I’m hurt. You hurt me real bad.

Leave a Reply Please

